Awards & Recognition

Leadership for Tomorrow Class of 2019
Keith Griffin - USD 345 Board Member
Keith Griffin Certificate

2019 KASSP Area I High School Principal of the Year
Seaman High School Principal Mike Monaghan
Mike Monaghan

2019 Lowell Milken Center for Unsung Heroes Discovery Award
Taegan Loy and Trent Powell created a documentary for the Discovery Award and won the $2,000 Outstanding High School Project award.
Discovery Award

2019 Civic Advocacy Network Award Winner
Seaman High School
CAN Awards

2019 FCCLA National Results
SMS - Chelcie Heitman, Sponsor
Lois Deeter, Jaxon Kramer, Ryleigh Williams: Interpersonal Communication Junior, Gold 6th in the nation
Emily Shuford, Aaliyah Gonzales, Ava Laird: Chapter in Review Display Junior, Gold 6th in the nation
Ashtyn Parcaro: Nutrition and Wellness, Silver
Regan Zielsdorf: Recycle and Redesign, Silver

SHS- Stacey Jones, Sponsor
Kaden Fox - Leadership - Gold medal, ranked 4th in the nation.
Renae Sturgeon,  Hannah Mott, and Emma Schultz - Chapter Service Display - Gold medal - 3rd in the nation
Amilee Brian - Teach and Train - Gold medal - 9th in the nation 
Tatum Crow and Morgan Sharp - Chapter in Review Portfolio - Silver medal
Amberly Stadler - Advocacy - Silver medal


2019 History Day State Champions
Josh Duncan – 1st Place- Individual Documentary
Trinidy Thompson, Isabel Grimes, and Eva Noble – 1st Place – Group Performance

2019 Forensics State Champions, Duo
Zach Kuti & Eric Patterson, Jr.

2019 5A State Baseball Champions
Seaman High School
Baseball Awards

2019 Sunflower Spotlight
SMS Food Service Program - Second Chance Breakfast

2019 5A Singles Tennis Champion
Pietro Perego

2019 5A Assistant Wrestling Coach of the Year
Jon Ray

2019 Kansas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (KAHPERD) Central District Honor Award
Claudia Welch

2019 5A Boys Bowling State Champions
Seaman High School

2019 USD 345 Teachers of the Year
Cassie Geis - SHS
Chad Uhler - SMS
Kristi Becker - Logan
Crystal Johnson - Elmont
Karen DiLeonardo - North Fairview
Brittany Lilly - Northern Hills
Emily McConnaughey - West Indianola

2019 200 Free Style Swim State Champion
Josh Florence

2019 Outstanding Teacher by KSPE
Rebecca Unruh

2019 Scholastic Art Gold Key Winners
Mallory Leifried
Meredith Lewis (4 gold keys)
Shennen Pineda-Ortega
Benjamin Pisocki

2019 State Champion Competitive Improv Team
Mason Clark
Zach Kuti
Chris Richardson
Andrew Brewer
Tristan Hahn

2019 Kansas Horizon Award Winner
Garret Platt

Kansas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (KAHPERD) Administrator Award
Lee Schmidt

USD 345 2017-18 Coaches of the Year
Head Coach of the Year = Steve Bushnell - Baseball
Assistant Coach of the Year = Bernie Tuck - B. and G. Swim

2018 Kansas Secondary Art Educator of the Year
Brad LeDuc

2018 Commended Student
Cole King

2018 Kansas State Department of Education Civic Engagement Team - Promising Practices Award
Seaman High School

2018 Naval Historical Foundation Teacher of Distinction
Susan Sittenauer

2018 5A State Baseball Champions
Seaman High School

2018 FBLA-State Champions
Broadcast Journalism team of Josh Duncan, Riley Polter and Sophia Sparks
Public Service Announcement team of Jaiden Anderson, Treven Broxterman and Joe Crome

MACE Make IT Happen Winner
Brooke Ralph

5A-1A Boys State Swim & Dive Champs
Seaman High School

2018 Horizon Award Winner
Lindy Broeckelman

Awards prior to 2018 are not published on this page.